EGCC to Share $17.7M Intel Workforce Training | News, Sports, Jobs


YOUNGSTOWN – Eastern Gateway Community College is part of a collaborative effort involving 16 Ohio community colleges and technical schools to develop semiconductor training and workforce programs for the technology giant. Intel technology.

As part of the AI ​​Incubator Network, EGCC will offer workforce training and career acceleration courses as a gateway to in-demand fields.

This effort is part of a $17.7 million investment that Intel will make over the next three years in colleges and universities across the state to create education and workforce programs focused on semiconductors.

Intel made the funding announcement — part of its $50 million, 10-year commitment — on Friday ahead of launching a $20 billion state-of-the-art computer chip factory in New Albany.

EGCC worked with the other schools in the group and Intel and Dell Technologies to provide regional and regional students with training and employment opportunities.

The funding is intended to help address labor shortages in semiconductor manufacturing and technical challenges to develop new chip manufacturing capabilities.

“EGCC will develop AI labs, with guidance from Dell Technologies, which will be in-person, online or hybrid options. Dell will work with EGCC on job skills and employability for AI-related careers. We will continue to meet the demands of our local workforce to create growth opportunities for our students,” said Arthur Daly, EGCC Senior Vice President and Chief Development Officer.

Other schools in the group are Belmont College, Central Ohio Technical College, Cincinnati State Technical & Community College, Clark State Community College, Columbus State Community College, Cuyahoga Community College, Edison State Community College, Hocking College, Lakeland Community College, County Community de Lorain College, Marion Technical College, North Central State College, Northwest State Community College, Owens Community College, Rhodes State College, Rio Grande Community College, Sinclair Community College, Southern State Community College, Stark State College, Terra State Community College, Community of Washington State College and Zane State College.

Youngstown State and Kent State universities are also included in the proposals that will receive a share of the $17.7 million.

YSU will partner with 10 other northeast Ohio colleges and universities to offer training programs in automation, robotics, microelectronics, and semiconductor processing.

Kent State will lead a network of 13 other colleges and universities to prepare the workforce to manufacture small electronics. The proposal will expand facility equipment and virtual and augmented reality learning across a variety of programs for manufacturing technicians, entry-level engineers, and advanced manufacturing degrees.

All seven branches of the school are part of the effort, including Kent State University at Trumbull at Champion.

Today’s breaking news and more to your inbox


Comments are closed.