DFW Healthcare Brief: Texas Health Resources receives community service award and UTSW researcher named to National Academy of Sciences


Texas Health Resources won the Foster G. McGaw Award for Excellence in Community Service for its leadership and building its community while meeting its needs. The prize includes $100,000 for this mission. The award is sponsored by the Baxter International Foundation, the American Hospital Association and its nonprofit subsidiary Health Research & Educational Trust and given to a healthcare organization committed to improving the health of its community.

Dallas neurosurgeon Dr. Bradley Lega received the 2022 JT “Lamar” McNew, MD, Award for Services to Physicians-in-Training by the Texas Medical Association Resident and Fellow Section. The award recognizes a TMA physician who provides mentorship and services to residents and fellows. Lega has been practicing for nine years and is an associate professor in the Department of Neurological Surgery at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas.

TimelyMD was nominated for Inc. Magazine’s Best Workplaces List. The Fort Worth-based virtual health and wellness company is focused on connecting people in the higher education space with healthcare and providing a flexible work environment for its 150 full-time employees. Additionally, market intelligence organization MedTech Breakthrough named TimelyMD the Best Overall Mobile Health Solution recognizing the world’s top medical and health technology companies.

UT Southwestern scientist Jonathan Cohen has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest honors for American scholars. Cohen has been recognized for his original research identifying genes that are important in cholesterol and triglyceride metabolism and highlighting the biological roles of their protein products. Cohen is a professor of internal medicine at the Center for Human Nutrition and the Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development at UT Southwestern.


Will is the editor of CEO magazine and editor of D CEO Healthcare. He wrote about health care…


Comments are closed.