$5 million to over 60 communities for first responder training


Governor Gretchen Whitmer announced that more than 60 Michigan communities will receive awards through the $5 million First Responder Training and Grant Program. All cities, towns, townships, counties or fire departments in Michigan were eligible to apply for a grant related to training and recruiting first responders. First responders include police officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians, paramedics and the local government corrections officer unit.

The grant program supports local government efforts to expand recruitment, improve training, and provide additional professional development and support to local government first responders. The Town of Saginaw, Vasser, Flint, Alma, Bad Axe, and the Township of Carrollton are among the communities that will receive grants.

“This grant will allow the Bay City Department of Public Safety to find creative ways to recruit, train and provide professional development for our everyday heroes to keep our community safe,” said Dana Muscott, Bay City City Manager. “We appreciate the support and investment in our first responders at the local government level.”

“Michigan’s first responders are putting their lives on the line to keep us all safe and we must protect them,” Governor Whitmer said. “Today’s grants will help more than 60 Michigan communities train and recruit first responders. And in my budget for next fiscal year, I proposed additional funding to help communities hire and train even more first responders, including firefighters, police officers, paramedics and paramedics. Let’s continue to work together to keep Michiganders safe.

First Responder Training and Recruitment Grants have been awarded to:

Town of Albion $170,000.00
City of Alma $87,925.00
Town of Bay City $77,992.00
Town of Beaverton $7,507.43
Town of Benton Harbor $100,000.00
Town of Bronson $3,992.13
Center Line City $50,725.00
Town of Croswell $33,130.00
Town of Eastpointe $30,000.00
Town of Ecorse $170,000.00
City of Flint $170,000.00
Town of Hamtramck $100,000.00
Town of Harper Woods $83,919.40
Hazel City Park $128,080.00
Town of Highland Park $170,000.00
Town of Houghton $141,200.00
Town of Inkster $91,847.00
Town of Iron River $36,409.00
Town of Ironwood $47,500.00
Town of Leslie $6,365.00
Lincoln City Park $128,625.00
Town of Manistique $29,125.00
Town of Melvindale $170,000.00
Town of Morenci $14,700.00
Town of Muskegon $87,065.00
Town of Muskegon Heights $100,000.00
Town of Niles $41,792.00
Town of Potterville $63,450.00
Town of Reed City $60,000.00
Town of River Rouge $91,818.00
Town of Saginaw $170,000.00
City of Vassar $57,000.00
County of Algiers $46,651.00
Allegan County $100,000.00
Chippewa County $78,939.00
County Clare $54,035.00
Delta County $170,000.00
Iron County $17,583.00
Keweenaw County $82,172.00
Marquette County $98,784.00
Menominee County $143,908.40
Montcalm County $170,000.00
Ontonagon County $100,000.00
Otsego County $100,000.00
County Roscommon $67,500.00
Bad Ax Area FA $107,435.00
Chippewa-Martiny FA $10,225.00
Marion Community FA $29,527.00
Saugatuck Township Fire District $58,000.00
Shiawassee Southwest Emergency Services Alliance $160,150.00
Township of Alpena $41,597.36
Township of Carrollton $5,050.00
Township of Columbia $11,333.32
Township of Hanover $9,900.00
Township of Overisel $4,000.00
Township of Redford Charter $144,500.00
Applegate Village $82,280.25
Village of Baraga $96,980.00
Village of Carsonville $52,168.25
Village of Laurium $74,587.81
Village of Montgomery $108,825.00
Village of New Haven $23,900.00
Village of Otisville $750.00
Village of Thompsonville $29,051.20

Applications for funding were screened by the Michigan Department of Treasury based on program purpose, eligibility, and criteria. Projects are funded on a reimbursement basis.

“Injecting these dollars into our communities will help train the next generation of first responders,” said state treasurer Rachael Eubanks. “Our priority will be to make payments to communities as soon as possible. Community leaders who have questions about their grants should contact us to navigate the refund process. »


Comments are closed.